We love that you make the most out of the process, and that is why here in Educonnecting we'll accompany you at every stage so that you enjoy it to the fullest

Follow us on:

Melbourne cerrará algunas zonas

Melbourne will close some areas until July 29th due to new outbreaks of coronavirus

From July 1st to July 29th, 2020, Melbourne will close some areas in order to contain new outbreaks of coronavirus in the state of Victoria.

311 thousand people in 10 postal areas in Melbourne were ordered to stay at their homes during these four weeks.

This news has led other states to pronounce on the matter, such as South Australia, which has announced that it will rule out its plans to reopen its borders on July 20th precisely because of the Melbourne coronavirus outbreak.

Other states such as New South Wales, as of July 1st, relaxed their restrictions. While Queensland, maintains its plans to reopen its borders.

The state of Victoria recorded 73 new cases, while on Tuesday it recorded 64 new cases of COVID-19, completing a whole fortnight in which a double-digit increase in coronavirus cases was recorded.

This situation prompted the Prime Minister of Victoria, Daniel Andrews, to take up the restrictions previously established in several areas of Melbourne with the highest number of cases of contagion.

The 10 postcodes considered as risk zones and closed their activities from July 1st to July end are:

3012 Brooklyn, Kingsville, Maidstone, Tottenham, West Footscray.

3021 Albanvale, Key Alba, Kings Park, St Albans.

3032 Ascot Vale, High Point City, Maribyrnong, Traven Core.

3038 Keilor Downs, Keilor Lodge, Taylors Lakes, Water Gardens.

3042 Airport West, Keilor Park, Nidri.

3046 Glenroy, Hadfield, Oak Park,

3047 Broadmeadows, Dallas, Jacana.

3055 Brunswick South, Brunswick West, Moonee Vale, Moreland West.

3060 Fawkner.

3064 Donnybrook, Mickleham, Roxburgh Park, Calcallow.

As with the above restrictions, people residing at these hotspots will only be able to leave their homes for the following four reasons:

  • To receive medical care.
  • To exercise.
  • To buy food or other essential items.
  • To go to work or school.

International flights to the city of Melbourne will also be banned in an attempt to curb the contagion rate.

 To enforce these restrictions in these areas of western and northern Melbourne, police patrols will be watching to ensure that everyone complies with the new order.

The federal government will support Victoria with 800 workers who will conduct mobile COVID-19 tests at the hotspots.


Queensland Prime Minister Annastacia Palaszczuk said Queensland's borders will open on July 10th for all states except Victoria.

Palaszczuk has said that visitors will have to fill out a border declaration form confirming that they have not been to Victoria in the last 14 days. If someone lies, there would be a fine of up to AUD $4,000 for those who make false statements.

New south Wales:

Authorities have announced that they will ban anyone who has been in Melbourne's critical areas from entering the state. There will be a fine of AUD $11,000 and 6 months in prison for those who fail to comply with the order.

Please note: Postal codes affected in Melbourne are: 3012, 3021, 3032, 3038, 3042, 3046, 3047, 3055, 3060 and 3064.


  • If you experience cold or flu symptoms, ask for a test by calling your doctor or contact the Coronavirus health information hotline: 1800 020 080.
  • Check the existing restrictions of your state or territory.
  • Download the CovidSafe coronavirus tracking app

If you were interested in: “Melbourne will close some areas until July 29th due to new outbreaks of coronavirus” Stay tuned to our social media and subscribe to our Newsletter, so you will know all the updates and announcements that are given regarding this situation. 

Also register for our EduHelpprogram, where you can access links, support material, tips and many other things that will help you face these times of COVID-19. Educonnecting, we are with you!